[2021-02-05] Making a difference

I spent some time today catching up on Seth Godin's blog. Godin is a marketing and business expert, a prolific writer, and one of the world's top bloggers. I've followed him for years. His January 23 post, Your big idea, caught my eye:

Your big idea
It’s probably not completely original.
It’s probably not breathtaking in scope.
It’s probably not immediately popular.
But… it’s definitely worth pursuing, consistently and persistently for years and years.
If you care. If it’s generous and helpful and worth the journey.
All the big ideas that made a difference follow this pattern.

Godin has always been an advocate for starting modestly, putting your idea out to the world, and—most importantly—being consistent and persistent in pursuing your objective. He blogs everyday and has published more than 8,000 posts. The idea you put out could be a business venture, a volunteer activity, a platform for teaching, an art form—anything really.

When I started Jenesis, I had no idea what it would become and what it would mean to readers. I knew only that I had dropped a bombshell on family, friends, colleagues and employees when I revealed my diagnosis of ovarian cancer. I could have simply retreated from their lives, with little notice and no follow-up. But I felt compelled to share my story, to keep those I cared about informed of my progress, and to reassure them that I was OK.

I began with a post on my first day of health leave. It was a mix of bad news and good news: the shock of my diagnosis tempered by the joy of my marriage to Chris. I shared that piece by email with my family, close friends and colleagues, and all my employees, and I invited anyone who was interested in continuing to receive my updates to let me know. Over the following weeks and months, several hundred people asked to be added to my email distribution list as news of my situation spread, including some people I hadn't met before.

As I wrote more articles, my purpose became clearer. In addition to keeping interested people apprised of my health, I wanted to share my experience of facing ovarian cancer with a broader audience for three reasons: (1) to increase awareness of the disease, (2) to help others who may face a similar challenge in the future, and (3) to provide a hopeful example of one person's journey with cancer. Many people close to me encouraged me to make my posts public and to share them via social media.

As Godin says about many ideas, my mission isn't original or breathtaking in scope, but it is worth pursuing. I believe that there is value in showing that one can still experience joy, happiness and hope after a cancer diagnosis and during treatment.

Though my mission isn't original, my story is unique. My decision to share it publicly, as I live it, would not be everyone's choice. Others opt to share their story with a smaller number of people; that, too, is generous and helpful and worthwhile. The commonality is that we care.

I agree with Madeleine L'Engle who wrote: "Stories make us more alive, more human, more courageous, more loving." I would add, as Godin suggested, that stories make a difference. They also help us to connect with others.

What is most pleasing to me with this blog is that while my stories are told through the lens of my experience with ovarian cancer, they are relevant and inspirational to many people. My hope for successful treatment of my cancer becomes someone else's hope that we will soon have some relief from COVID. My struggle to be patient as my body recovers from chemotherapy becomes someone else's resolve to be more patient as they recover from a head injury. My delight in having a chickadee land on my hand becomes someone else's delight in the beauty of an evergreen tree.

No matter how you share your story and with whom, trust that you are making a difference.