[2021-03-28] Lotus flower

In response to my Blue sky post, a friend wrote to me today to share the story of the lotus flower. Quoting the article Padma Mudra For Reconnecting With Your Inner Light, she wrote:

Just think about it—a lotus flower takes root down in the mud and rises up through the water to blossom at the water’s surface. The path of the lotus is similar to the journey to enlightenment. It is the journey from darkness to light.

I admit that I have allowed myself to spend more time in darkness than light in the last few days. My friend added:

Jen, you are that lotus flower, about to embrace a spectacular renewal.

I need reminders such as this one in the same way that a plant needs sun. When facing cancerwhich another friend described to me today as heavy, scary and overwhelmingit's so easy to feel under water or mired in the mud.

The article recommended this exercise:

Take a cross-legged position. Bring the base of the palms together at the heart center, touching the thumbs and pinky fingers together. Spread the rest of the fingers out like the lotus flower opening toward the sunlight. Close your eyes and take several deep and long breaths.

I found this exercise calming even though I've never been good at yoga or meditation.

I also pulled the courage card out of my box of Love Powered Femme cards, which I told you about in A beautiful life. I need to keep this card close so that I can review it every day:

Courage is my power.
I am courageous; I am powerful; I am brave.
Despite my fears, I chase my dreams, and I stand up for what is important to me.
I am courageous.

I cannot let fear of the unknown stop me from chasing my dreams. I am the lotus flower: determined, open, beautiful.