[2021-03-30] Living

Today, I drove to my mom's farm for the first time in almost eight months. I hadn't been there since August 3, when I broke the news to my family that I had ovarian cancer.

Today's visit was much more positive. The unseasonably warm weather enabled us to have a COVID-responsible visit. We spent the day in the sugar bush. My mom, brother and sister-in-law oversaw the sap-boiling operation within the sugar shack. We spent most of the day outside the shack, enjoying the warm sun and southerly breeze. We wore masks, including when collecting sap. The exception was when we were seated outside and more than six feet apart.

It was a nice compromise since I won't be visiting at Easter.

Since my diagnosis at the end of July, I haven't been in anyone's house but my own. Like many people, I've had to forego in-person celebrations with my extended family at Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's. But the arrival of spring opens the door for more visits with my mom and siblings in the months ahead.

When I returned home, I had a call with my amazing family doctor, a woman who embodies humility, empathy and reason. I always feel better after speaking with Dr. Daverne. She identifies what's going well, acknowledges the challenges, and provides straightforward advice based on evidence and experience.

Dr. Daverne noted two things that I have going for me: my overall fitness and my positive mindset, which reminded me of my layer-cake analogy. In fact, layer 1 in my cakegood base healthwas inspired by Dr. Daverne when we spoke for the first time after my diagnosis. As a reminder, layer 2 is successful surgery; layer 3, successful chemotherapy; and layer 4, maintenance therapy. The icing on the cake is all the support I have in my life. Dr. Daverne is part of that support, as is my incredible family, and is helping me to maintain my good base health.

I feel better today than I have in a few daysmore optimistic, more knowledgeable, and more motivated to continue the fight. As I said to my doctor and I experienced during my careful visit with my family today, I will not stop living.