[2021-07-02] Tomorrow's fundraising walk

It looks like the weather in Ottawa will cooperate for tomorrow's Beau's 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada. An overnight low of 12°C will give way to a daytime high of 23°C, with only a 21% chance of rain. This is ideal weather for a 5K walk.

I will have a spring in my step thanks to your generous donations, which will help to increase awareness of and progress on ovarian cancer. At the time of this post, 51 individuals had donated $3,426 to my campaign. That's an incredible amount. As a result of your altruism, I am the second highest fundraiser among 100 participants and the fourth highest fundraiser overall among the 100 participants and 21 teams. This greatly exceeds my expectations.

I have been so moved by the donations that have poured in. They have come from family members, friends, colleagues (current and past) and people who have learned of my story through this blog. I have also been touched by likes and shares of my various social media posts announcing that I had joined this fundraiser. All contributions, both monetary and non-monetary, help to raise awareness about ovarian cancer. As I wrote in my thank you message to donors, together, we will make a difference in the lives of people with ovarian cancer as well as those who will be diagnosed in the future, but hopefully at the earliest possible stage. We will also contribute to research to improve screening for ovarian cancer (currently, there is no reliable method for detecting the disease) and to improve treatments.

Each action felt like the donor had whispered: "We're with you, Jen." And that's the most incredible feeling.

On behalf of everyone who has ever been diagnosed with ovarian cancer, who has watched a family member or friend confront the disease, or who will be affected by this illness in the future, directly or indirectly, I say thank you.

Donations can be made until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, July 4 through my donation page.

For those of you who follow me on social media, watch for posts from my walk in the morning. Wishing you all a happy weekend.