[2021-07-03] A huge thank you!

What a day it has been. As I sit at my computer to write tonight's post, I am tired but happy. Very happy!

Your generosity has exceeded all my expectationsseveral times over. As of yesterday's post, donors had contributed an impressive $3,436 to my walk in the Beau's 5K for Ovarian Cancer Canada. Just 24 hours later, that number has more than doubled, reaching $7,086 at the time of this post. This is the highest fundraising total among all individual participants and teams entered in this year's walk. That is incredible!

And contrary to last night's post, donations can be made until 11:59 p.m. tomorrow, Sunday, July 4. (I updated last night's post to correct my error.) So if you wanted to donate, but thought that you were too late, you still have time (go to my donation page).

I am proud, grateful, and humbled by your kindness and encouragement. Most of all, I am thrilled because these funds will make a difference to those affected by this disease, which one contributor very appropriately called stealthy. With no reliable screening method for ovarian cancer, we desperately need research to find ways to detect the disease at earlier stages so that people diagnosed with the disease have a better chance of surviving it.

Because you have been so generous, I decided that one 5K walk wasn't sufficient recompense, so I did two 5K walks today: one this morning with my kids and another this afternoon with my sister. The weather couldn't have been more beautiful.

In addition to expressing appreciation for your donations, I want to thank everyone who shared and liked my various social media posts. All of this activity increases awareness of ovarian cancer, and that's a very good thing. I can't say thank you enough, so here's one more huge THANK YOU!