[2021-07-24] Transition

I've had a busy 24 hours. I spent much of last evening and today reading and responding to hundreds of comments from employees, colleagues, bosses, friends, relatives and Jenesis readers following my retirement announcement.

As you have done in the past when I've felt down or sad or troubled by conflicting emotion, you lifted me up with your kind words and compliments. Every message was a giftaffirming that I had made the right decision, assuring me that retirement is great, advising me of pitfalls to avoid as I transition to a new phase in my life, recognizing my legacy through my Public Service career and Jenesis, and expressing the hope that I will continue writing and sharing.

Here are just some of the takeaways I have distilled from your responses.

Don't look back

As I wrote yesterday, it's difficult to make the decision to retire. But now that it's made and communicated, I am feeling more at peace, helped in part by this comment from a former boss: "Focusing on what is important and makes you happy and fulfilled seems like a wise decision." A former employee and dear friend endorsed my new direction: "A great decision after an outstanding career. You’ve made such a difference for so many people! The best days are ahead!" And a former colleague advised: "Time now for new adventures; always look forward." And so I shall. Onwards and upwards.

Enjoy retirement

Many retirees attested that retirement is wonderful: "You won’t regret it, I assure you. On to new adventures!" said one. Others invited me into the club: "Welcome to the world of the productively unemployed," joked one. "Congratulations and welcome to the club, more time and energy for everything!" assured another. A third person shared her recipe for life after work: "Retirement is meant to be lived and loved as a new beginning." And a very wise woman noted the benefit to both me and my family: "Your retirement will be a joy to you and those you love."

Don't overcommit

Several individuals advised me not to overcommit. One woman who has provided wise counsel to me throughout the past year wrote: "So, sit and just be for a bit. Don't make the mistake I made, looking at volunteer opportunities until your volunteer schedule looks as busy as your work schedule once looked." Her better half provided a similar caution: "And the warning which I am sure you have already heard: You’ll never be so busy as in 'retirement' is so true." Another of my chief supporters said that she loves retirement "But I do spend way too much time with volunteer work and not enough time painting and sketching."

And so I will proceed carefully. As some have said, I worked hard through my whole career, so now is the time to reap the rewards. I will remember what a friend wrote to me: "No need to put any pressure on what you should and shouldn’t be doing."

Take pride in your legacy

"You never get to see the impact you truly have on people," one employee wrote today. This is true, for most of us, most of the time. We rarely get to see the difference we make in the lives of other people. Perhaps retirements and diagnoses of life-threatening illnesses are the exception to the rule. This same employee added: "Someone called me completely devastated you are retiring. So, it’s not anticlimactic," referring to my statement that retiring after having been on medical leave felt anticlimactic.

Indeed, the many stories people shared with me today made the communication of my decision to retire anything but anticlimactic. One woman wrote: "Happy retirement, Jen! My heart jumped when I saw the email (even if i knew it was one day coming…). I feel sad that the public service is losing you, yet simultaneously feeling overjoyed that you’re off to share your light with the rest of the world! I said to a colleague yesterday that I want to be just like you when I grow up, and that my goal as a leader is to make people feel half as appreciated, inspired and valued as you do! I’m so grateful we got to work together. Thank you for your leadership."

Many people commented on my leadership style: "You were an amazing example of an empathetic female leader early in my career and I am sure you will continue to inspire others," said a former colleague. "Your management style, your personality and the concrete support that you provided me helped me professionally and personally," said a former employee. "Your leadership style has helped to shape the type of leader I aim to be in my field," said a third person. "[J]ust know that your legacy carries on in many public servants by virtue of your conduct," wrote a former employee, adding "You embodied the best qualities, ones that are infused in many who had the privilege to work directly with you." Another person stated: "Your humanizing effect on the workplace will be missed." And a colleague noted: "I will personally miss your calm demeanour, your unwavering support, and your unique way of building consensus."

Numerous people said that they felt lucky to have worked with me (of course, I was just as lucky to have worked with them), in part because of what they had learned in the process. One woman noted: "I often bring something I’ve learned from you to the table (at work and at home)." Another said: "You have been such an awe-inspiring mentor to me. I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to work with you and learn from you." A colleague expressed an even broader effect: "While our paths never crossed at Health Canada, it may seem strange to say but I could 'feel' your influence."

Others noted my impact on the Public Service: "You can leave with the certainty that you made an important contribution to the country and had a positive impact on many grateful friends and colleagues," said a former boss. "Your greatest legacy is with other public servants who you influenced in a positive way to be comfortable in who they are and inspired them to conquer the challenges in front of them," a colleague noted. I was especially touched by this remark: "there will be some Jennifer in the people serving Canadians for many years to come because they had the chance to work with you!" A former colleague acknowledged my broad impact as well as my influence on her personally: "You made the public service a better place. You are one of those strong women who changed the trajectory of my career."

Keep creating lollipop moments

In wishing me well in my retirement, one person shared a lollipop moment, an occasion where I had made a difference in her life without my even knowing it. This young woman had been trying unsuccessfully to join a particular organization in the Public Service. She decided to send cold emails to anyone whose email address she could find who might have a connection to that organization. She told me: "Of the 260+ cold emails I sent, you were one of 13 people to respond, and one of 3 people who offered to share my CV with your colleagues." I did share her CV, and she went on to be hired by that organization and is still with them as a co-op student. She added: "I can’t thank you enough for taking the time to respond to my email and for sharing my CV with your colleaguesto reference a concept you mentioned in your blog, this was the most profound 'lollipop moment' of my career. I can only imagine the number of people you have positively impacted during your time in the Public Service."

A colleague echoed this sentiment, writing: "I'd like to thank you on behalf of myself and the countless others you have helped and influenced over the years. That is what matters, not the files and achievements. What do people remember about you, what difference did you make in the lives of others. You are #incredible." And another person shared this inspiration: "You are so respected, admired and loved by so many people and your impact past and present is indelible. You are light."

And a young public servant reminded me of another lollipop momenta conversation we had had several years ago: "I will never forget how you took the time as an ADM to call me when I left my student contract."

Recognize your value beyond work

In the context of my retirement announcement, it is not surprising that most people focused on my contributions to the Public Service over the course of my career. However, some thanked me for sharing my story through daily posts in Jenesis and reminded me of the reach of my first blog, Café Jen. One former colleague wrote: "Café Jen at @NRCan back in the day was one of the first public service ´blogs’ I read on the regular. Your impact is bigger than you will ever know. We miss you already but will follow in your path always." Another told me: "When you stopped publishing Café Jen, my hope was that you would dedicate your time to write after your retirement," adding "I am glad that you started Jenesis and that you are dedicating part of your time to share your stories, your experience with ovarian cancer, your wisdom, as well as little beautiful moments of life."

Others welcomed the opportunity to continue learning through my writings. "The public service was better for having you in it. You will be missed…a lot! But so happy we get to continue learning from you through your blog," said one person. "I've read almost every one of your posts and appreciate your beautiful writing and candid, open heart. Thank you for sharing your journey," wrote another. "I feel so blessed to have come across your blog. I'm learning so much from your posts, full of wisdom and valuable insights/knowledge," remarked a third person. "I know this is a huge loss for HC and PHAC (for many of us benefited from your skills, knowledge, kindness and wisdom) but I am pleased that you are starting the next journey in your life, and really look forward to hearing about it in the ‘jenisphere’!" said a fourth.

Others noted the value of my work to raise awareness about ovarian cancer: "Thanks too for continuing your ovarian cancer advocacy. Believe me when I say that this may be your most important public service." This was repeated by another person who wrote: "I for one think your impact and influence lies more ahead of you then behind." A third person reminded me of the power of sharing my cancer journey with others: "You will do great with your blog, telling women that they are not alone in facing a scary journey in the unknown." The benefits extend not just to individuals who are facing cancer themselves, but to those who are supporting others in dealing with the disease: "We have never 'met' but through your engaging, candid and inspiring posts, you have allowed me to get to know you. Thank you. My mother is battling #cancer and I am finding a parallel between her experience and yours. I wish you all the very best for your retirement and will look forward to your future posts."

Begin your new chapter

The theme of closing one chapter and starting a new one came up repeatedly. I loved this remark, which I found beautifully poetic: "Cheers to your retirement, Jennifer! We’ll miss you. You are one of a kind and not easily replaced. However, you have new places to go and new stories to live. Let the next chapter begin!" Similarly, another woman noted: "Retirement is not an end but just a new beginning." And another stated: "Though you were my ADM for a short time, I immediately recognized a strong, supportive and compassionate leader in you. Thank you for being you, and for being true to yourself. You'll always find new ways to lead because that seems to be innately you. Thanks for bringing us along on your emotional journey. For as long as you keep writing, I think you'll find folks will keep reading."

I do have new places to go and new stories to live. I'll take the advice of others to slow down as I experience those new places and live those new stories. One friend shared a beautiful analogy: "NOW you can ‘put your indicator on’, get off the highway and onto a ‘quieter road’… one still full of hills and valleys and great adventures."

As I travel those hills and valleys, experiencing whatever adventures life has in store for me, I will continue to take you along. As long as I find folks who will read my stories, I will keep writing them.