[2021-09-19] Terry Fox Run appreciation

Today, I completed my third fundraising walk of 2021: the Terry Fox Run for Cancer Research. Together we raised $1,030 for this cause. Thank you for your financial support, your cheerleading and your shares of my social media posts.

On these fundraising jaunts, it has become tradition for me to walk with my kids in the morning and my sister in the afternoon. Walking with family members reinforces that I am not alone in this cancer journey. Theylike many of youhave been walking with me, literally or figuratively, from the beginning.

I didn't cover quite as much ground today as I did last Sunday for the Ovarian Cancer Canada Walk of Hope. Still, the almost 12 km and 17,500 steps I trekked today is a respectable performance.

That said, I'm still in awe of Terry Fox, who ran an average of 42 kilometres (26 miles) every day for 143 days during his Marathon of Hope. What a truly remarkable person. It's hard not to feel sad when I read about his story or listen to things he said. His life was both triumphant and tragic. I am humbled to have worn a red Terry Fox shirt today.