[2021-12-24] Christmas Eve

My daughter asked me today whether we had any Christmas Eve traditions when I was a child. I couldn't think of any that had endured year after year.

Of course, we went to Midnight Mass, the timing of which evolved over the years, from midnight to 10:00 p.m. to 7:30 p.m, if I remember correctly. One year, after mass, I made appetizers with Ritz crackers, slices of cured meat (probably salami) and cheese, warmed up in the microwave for a few seconds so that the cheese melted. I thought they were the greatest things. It makes me smile thinking about what delighted my 10-year-old mind! Happily, cheese and salami on Ritz crackers did not become a yearly tradition.

We opened presents on Christmas morning. One of the most memorable gifts I received was a universal screwdriver, a small hammer and vice grips. For the young woman heading out on her own, these tools were a perfect present. I still have them.

Our Christmas gifts often included a new board game, such as Risk, Monopoly or Trouble. We played a lot of games in our youth, including Crokinole, chess and cards (especially Euchre and Hearts).

As an adult with my own family, we haven't established any Christmas Eve traditions per se. As I write this, we are each engaged in our own pursuits.

Earlier this evening, Mel and I made homemade bagels so that we can have them for breakfast tomorrow, a loose tradition in our home. I did Christmas baking for others this year, and we have a few leftovers to see us through Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. I haven't made it a habit to do a lot of Christmas baking, mainly because I'd rather not have a plethora of sweets in the house. But it is nice to have some. I think I'll make that a tradition in future years.

We fetched Shane earlier in the day from his apartment. Even though he officially moved out only a few days ago, it's nice to have him back at home with the rest of us, especially this year. It will be like old times to wake up together as a family, eat breakfast and open a few gifts.

In some ways, this Christmas Eve is quite different from last year's, when I was focused on the fact that I had received my fifth of six chemotherapy treatments. In other ways, it feels like more of the same, with COVID wreaking havoc with plans to spend time with extended family. It seems fitting, therefore, that I would I leave you tonight with the same message I shared last Christmas Eve:

On this Christmas Eve, I reflect on the fact that Christmas—though a magical occasion for me—is not experienced that way by everyone. I also recognize that this year's celebrations will be like no others. So my wish for all of you is to be kind to yourself. Give yourself the gift you need, whatever that may be.