[2022-01-30] What I can control

I am saddened, frightened and disappointed by the events occurring in Ottawa this weekend. I will not spell them out here, as I do not wish to draw further attention to them.

This evening, I found myself searching for strategies to cope when life feels out of control. I came across a few lists of things that are within my control and put together this version.

Things I can control
  1. My words
  2. My beliefs
  3. My attitude
  4. My thoughts
  5. My reactions
  6. My perspective
  7. What I focus on
  8. How honest I am
  9. What books I read
  10. Who my friends are
  11. How often I exercise
  12. The type of food I eat
  13. How many risks I take
  14. When I listen to others
  15. How kind I am to myself
  16. How kind I am to others
  17. How I interpret situations
  18. How I express my feelings
  19. What goals I set for myself
  20. How often I say "I love you"
  21. How often I say "thank you"
  22. Whether or not I ask for help
  23. How often I practice gratitude
  24. Which organizations I support
  25. How many times I smile today
  26. Whether or not I keep my word
  27. The amount of effort I put forth
  28. How often I think about my past
  29. How I spend or invest my money
  30. How much time I spend worrying
  31. Whether or not I judge other people
  32. How much I appreciate the things I have
  33. Whether or not I try again after a setback

In keeping with #24, I decided to make a donation to The Terry Fox Foundation tonight. As I've tried to do throughout my cancer journey, I made this choice to try to turn vinegar into vinaigrette. That is within my control.

Terry Fox was an angel in our midst. Since he began his Marathon of Hope in 1980, more than $850 million has been raised in his name. The thank you letter I received in response to my contribution this evening stated: "By making a donation, you are part of a national movement honouring the vision and spirit of an iconic Canadian while raising critical funds for cancer research." This is the kind of movement I want to be part of.