[2022-02-04] World Cancer Day

It's World Cancer Day. Established in 2000 by the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), its aim is to raise awareness, improve education and promote action by individuals, groups and governments to prevent cancer deaths and to facilitate equitable access to cancer treatment.

I'm especially encouraged by the UICC's aim of raising awareness to help prevent cancer and to promote its early detection. Having now experienced two cancers, I would encourage you to do what you can to avoid the disease or, barring that, to help ensure its discovery as early as possible.

To avoid cancer, learn about the risk factors that you can modify to reduce your chances of developing cancer (see Causes of cancer on the UICC's Understanding Cancer page). The UICC says that "Over a third of all cancers can be prevented by reducing your exposure to risk factors such as tobacco, obesity, physical inactivity, infections, alcohol, environmental pollution, occupational carcinogens and radiation."

To detect cancer early, review the UICC's infographic on cancer signs and symptoms presented below. If you are experiencing any of these signs, consult your healthcare professional right away. Should you be one of the two in five Canadians who will be diagnosed with cancer in your lifetime, the earlier your cancer is discovered, the greater your chances of successful treatment.

I had wanted to write a more elaborate post for today, but this is what I can manage. The side effects from radiation are odd: some days are harder than others, despite the best pain management medications. Today is one of those days.

I looked back at my post on this day a year ago and was heartened by my celebration of the chickadee's Indomitable spirit and this quote by cancer survivor Emory Austin: "Some days you won't feel a song inside your heart, but sing anyway."

Some days, I don't feel much like writing, but I write anyway. Knowing that you are there to read my reflections spurs me to find the energy to keep going.