[2022-03-14] Tips for resolving problems over the phone

I made several calls today on behalf of my son to try to resolve a few issues he has been having with his benefits.

As much as I like technology and am good at finding information online, I increasingly pick up the phone when I need answers to questions, whether for myself or someone else. Being retired, I have the time and patience to wait on hold, start the conversation and then, if necessary, loop in the person I'm helping.

For the calls I made this morning, I identified upfront that I was calling on behalf of my son, indicated that I could link him into the call when required, and stated that I would start with generic questions. In all three cases, the people I reached raised no objections to my starting the call for my son, perhaps because I had stated at the outset that I could connect him to the call if needed. All three service providers were knowledgeable, patient and helpful.

Shane was able to continue working, while being on standby should I telephone.

The first call resulted in a resolution to an issue that had been dragging on for some weeks. The second call provided us with detailed information and may soon lead to a resolution; it may also have identified an error in the system. The third call confirmed next steps in the process.

In my experience, there's nothing like being able to ask questions directly of an expert. I have resolved issues more quickly by speaking with someone than I would have by simply searching for information online. Granted, I sometimes need to make multiple calls to an institution and speak to different people, but I'm learning which organizations tend to get it right from the first discussion and which ones don't.

Here are my tips when calling entities to obtain information and to resolve problems.

Before the call
  • Gather information that might be needed on the call, especially details that are required to verify your identity.
  • Write down your questions before picking up the phone.
  • Have a notebook—paper or online application—open and ready to take down information.
  • Put a title on the note, along with the date and the telephone number you are calling (you may need that number again).
On the call
  • Write down the name of the person who takes your call as well as their agent number, if applicable; ask them to repeat these details if you don't capture them at first; use the agent's name throughout your call.
  • Take detailed notes (as I recommended in Take notes); if necessary, let the agent know that you're taking notes so that they understand why you might be pausing between questions.
  • If the agent instructs you to complete steps online, ask whether they can remain on the phone while you do the steps, in case you run into problems.
  • Be clear on what you have to do and what, if anything, the agent has to do.
After the call
  • Take action on anything you can do right away, while the instructions are fresh in your mind.
  • Review your notes, filling in any blanks that you weren't able to capture during the conversation.
  • Add to your calendar or to-do list any tasks you need to take in the future, including contacting the organization for a follow-up.
Here are three additional tips for working with someone who can act on your behalf or get the ball rolling:
  • If you have been hitting your head against a brick wall, making no progress towards the resolution of a problem, find someone who has already navigated the challenge you're facing and ask how they did it.
  • If you dislike calling organizations and find yourself quickly losing patience, find someone who is good at making such calls.
  • If you empower someone to be your interlocutor, involve them as early as possible in the process and keep them apprised of any developments, including correspondence from the organization.
Trying to resolve issues over the phone takes time and patience—two things that can be in short supply, especially for people who work full-time or for those who have had bad experiences in the past. I've had my share of frustrating calls, as I explained in Coping with anger, frustration and impatience. But I've had more successes than failures—both for myself and others. You might too.