[2022-05-26] Wishlist

On September 20, 2020, I sat in my backyard enjoying a visit with my sister and niece. It was less than two months since my unexpected diagnosis of ovarian cancer, less than a month since my hysterectomy plus, and less than a month before the start of my chemotherapy. The future was pretty uncertain then.

Among the subjects we talked about that day were interesting or crazy things we'd done in the past and things we wanted to do in the future. Our conversation was an acknowledgement that we shouldn't wait to do the things we've always wanted to do. My wishlist included experiences, such as watching live ballroom dancing or going to a drag show.

Now, 20 months later, I've done one of the two: tonight, I saw my first drag show.

Held at the Calabogie Brewing Company in Kanata, the event was a fundraiser for Northern Lights Refuge. According to the group's Facebook page, "Northern Lights Refuge (NLR) is a small group of volunteers in Canada’s Capital whose goal is to sponsor LGBTQ+ individuals who are in life threatening circumstances and bring them to Canada."

Tonight's show was both entertaining and meaningful.

It came on the same day I received the results of my latest blood work. Once again, my CA125 level is at 8. It's now been 18 months that the level of cancer antigen in my blood has been within the normal range (below 35). That bodes well for the future.

Next up: ballroom dancing.