[2022-06-08] Another message for my friend

When I wrote to you last, I talked about the meaningful contribution you could still make to the world, despite the hardships you face. While I have found that helping others makes me feel good, your thinking about your gifts to others may not be what helps you most at this moment.

So in today's message, I focus on the joy you can find in life, even if this isn't the life you thought you'd be living. You told me that you take pleasure in good food and in visits from friends and family. Those delights would be on my list as well.

Permit me to guess at some other things that bring you joy based on who you are, or at least how you appear to me.
  • You are a people person. You were always comfortable interacting with others. I am not surprised that you have befriended all the staff at your facility. I understand that it's scary and frustrating to think that you might have to meet a whole new set of people at a new facility. However, I encourage you to recognize how remarkably likable you are. Wherever you go, you will make friends. You will bring them joy through your humour, humility and love, and you will receive and appreciate their caring.
  • You are a musician and a music lover. Perhaps you can bring more music into your life: listening to it, sharing it (if only through recommendations to others), and even writing it.
  • You are a storyteller. You have tales to tell of the many people you've met in your life. Stories aren't merely amusing anecdotes; often, they embody the lessons we've learned over the years. Others would benefit from and be interested in your stories.
  • You are an artist. Perhaps you can find ways to express your creativity, even if that's in completely new ways. Or you can access art, even if only virtually.
  • You are a joker. You always loved to laugh and to make others laugh, usually by saying something they weren't expecting to hear. Though you may not feel like laughing, embrace moments of humour.
Forgive me for assuming what might bring you joy and for suggesting ways that you might bring these pleasures into your life. I simply wanted to help you recall the delights that you have enjoyed in the past and could still enjoy now, albeit in a different way.

You deserve happiness and delight. I and, no doubt, many others are here to support you in finding joy.