[2022-07-30] Saturday Synopsis #2

This is week two of my new series in Jenesis called Saturday Synopsis—a weekly summary of interesting things I've discovered in the past seven days.

Talk to people to learn
This week's newsletter from Atomic Habits author James Clear included this quote from Marie-Christine Gasingirwa, a director at the Ministry of Education in Rwanda:

In life there isn’t a single person that knows everything and there is no person that knows nothing. It’s not too late to learn because you just need to develop that interest, talk to people, share with them what you have and learn from them. There is no breakthrough in this world if you are isolated, you can only make a breakthrough by talking to people.

I love the opening line of the quote, which implies that we can learn something from anyone and that everyone has something to teach others.

Home remedies
This blog is a form of talking to people, though our communication is largely in writing and is mostly asynchronous. Nevertheless, I've learned a lot from readers; for instance, after reading last week's post, one friend pointed out that she follows a similar recipe for magic cleaning solution with one exception: she uses just 2 tablespoons of dish soap as opposed to a ½ cup. I tried my friend's recipe and liked it even more than the original, so I added an addendum to that effect to last week's post.

Also in response to last week's item, a family member offered another home remedy, this time for dealing with and preventing a clogged drain. Her guidance, which came from a plumber, was this: put 2-3 tablespoons of baking soda in the drain; add ¼ cup of vinegar to the drain (it will foam up); let this sit for 10 minutes; pour boiling water down the drain. I used this trick today, with one additional step at the beginning: I put a little dish soap in the drain, followed by a few cups of boiling water. I then proceeded with the baking soda and vinegar, followed—10 minutes later—by more boiling water. It worked! My family member's plumber recommended doing this once a month to keep the drain from getting sluggish.

Good news stories
I follow an Instagram account called Be Happy : Positive News. It presents thought-provoking quotes and uplifting stories. One recent story was told by the owner of a barber shop about a man named Mr. Earl:

Mr. Earl lives in the assisted living home next door to the shop, he has a memory disease that if you tell him something today he forgets so if you tell him again tomorrow it's like new information to him...his brother used to come to the shop and pay me every week to cut his hair. Then later Mr. Earl would come and ask me did his brother pay me so he can get a cut, I would always say yes sir your debt is already paid.... Mr. Earl's brother died 5 years ago and he doesn't remember, he still comes every week and always asks me is his debt paid.... I ALWAYS STILL SAY YES SIR, YOUR DEBT IS PAID and cut his hair.

I also like the story of the elderly Dick Paul, who mows the lawns of new neighbours as a welcoming gift, and the story of a teenager in England who wrote more than 40 heartfelt notes and attached them to the railings of a bridge to provide solace to people facing a mental health crisis.

Quote of the week: Ordinary kindness
This week's quote is from a friend and fellow ovarian cancer thriver who shared this statement by Bo Lozoff, who was a writer and humanitarian:

There is no spiritual practice more profound than being kind to one’s family, neighbors, the cashier at the grocery store, an unexpected visitor, the person who does the laundry or picks up the garbage, or any other of the "invisible" people whose paths we cross in the course of a normal day.

Certainly there are spiritual mysteries to explore, and states of ecstasy or enlightenment beyond description. But as we mature, it becomes clear that those special experiences are meaningful only when they arise from and return to a life of ordinary kindness. … a feeling of genuine kindness in our hearts is the practical expression of any spiritual path.

I adore the notion of "a life of ordinary kindness"being kind not just to our family members and neighbours, but also to the often "invisible people" we encounter every day. This is particularly fitting today, as it's International Friendship Day.

Granola scones
This week, I made a variation on a recipe I've tried a few times and love: granola scones. They're low in added sugar and chock full of healthy ingredients. In previous batches of the scones, I used dried cranberries and dried apricots (and even made them successfully with gluten-free flour). This week, I opted for dried cherries and mini chocolate chips, which proved to be a delectable combination. I reheat them for 4 minutes in an air fryer set at 350°F, which makes them crispy, like a cross between a scone and a cookie. If you're looking for a treat or dessert that's healthier than most, try this recipe.

Photo of the week: Cafe Jen
This week, I took many photos: the scenery in Perth and Wakefield, my baking (Cheddar Buttermilk Scones and Banana Zucchini Muffins with Blueberries), and produce from my garden. But my favourite photo was of the Cafe Jen sign that my kids bought for me for my birthday. It's in the visual, below, featured in its permanent place overlooking the deck.