[2022-08-27] Saturday Synopsis #6

Volunteering for Nostalgia this week altered my routine, such that I didn't realize until this morning that I had forgotten to do my Saturday Synopsis. I enjoy writing those posts, so, on this Sunday morning, I'm taking a few minutes to write and share a bonus post for this week: Saturday Synopsis #6.

Story of the week: Friendship
I've seen this story before, but it came up on my social media feed again this week, so I felt it was time to share it with you. In the captioned video, a young boy gives a pep talk to a fellow rugby player, who appears to be crying. With his hands on the crying boy's shoulders, the smaller player says:

It's okay. Everyone's older than me. Everyone's bigger. You don't, you don't have to—well listen to me. No, Bob, listen to me. Trust me. Look at me. Look at me Bob. I'm the shortest kid here. Listen. It doesn't matter who you are. It doesn't matter if you're short. You're young. It doesn't matter if you're tall or hit. It doesn't matter if you're fat. It doesn't matter if you're tall. Bob, you are a brilliant rugby player. You understand that? You're insane. You're actually insane for your age. You're insane. Go ahead. Give me a hug.

The taller boy hugs his friend. "All right?" The shorter boy asks. "All right," he confirms. "Come on, come on," he concludes while he leads his friend back out onto the field, his arm around the taller boy's shoulders. The video communicates so much more than the words alone. It will warm your heart to see the leadership being demonstrated by the smaller boy.

Quote of the week: Boundaries
When I stumbled upon this quote by Prentis Hemphill...

Boundaries are the distance at which I can love you and me simultaneously.

...it reminded me of my own post on boundaries, which is worth another read, particularly if you like today's quote. Hemphill's statement echoes much of the advice my daughter shared with me, which inspired my post:

Mel says that boundaries are a way of respecting both parties: we honour ourselves by setting boundaries, and we honour other people by sharing what our boundaries are. Setting limits communicates to the other person: "you are mature enough, healthy enough, emotionally stable enough to hear this boundary." Limits make it possible for people to co-exist in a relationship that works for both parties. That makes me think of the old adage that "good fences make good neighbours."

Recipe of the week: Peanut Butter Zucchini Bread Baked Oatmeal
Peanut Butter Zucchini Bread Baked Oatmeal is an excellent recipe. I whipped some up yesterday: one batch for me and another for a loved one. This baked oatmeal makes an excellent breakfast (with only 1 tablespoon of maple syrup in the entire recipe, and peanut butter as the only source of fat). Turns out, it also makes a lovely dessert with a little vegan chocolate-peanut butter ice cream, as my daughter discovered last night. Easily gluten-free and vegan if you substitute a flax egg for the egg, this recipe deserves to be in regular rotation. Bonus: it uses zucchini, which it's easy to have too many of at this time of year.

Song of the week: September
This week's song is September (Spotify, YouTube) by Earth, Wind & Fire. Chris and I had an opportunity to listen to it live, as performed by tribute band Shining Star at the Nostalgia Music Festival in Ottawa this week.

My thoughts are with you
Holding hands with your heart to see you
Only blue talk and love
Remember how we knew love was here to stay

There's something special for Chris and me when we attend a music festival. All our other responsibilities (including my remembering what day of the week it is and what I'm supposed to write about in my blog) fade away, and it's just us and the music and our love for each other.

Photo of the week: Volunteering
This week's photo is of Chris and me at the Volunteer Check-in at Nostalgia. You can see the stage in the background. We make a very good team.