[2022-09-09] Help and support

It might have been fortuitous that Chris and I had volunteer shifts at Cityfolk yesterday and today. Volunteering took our minds off the loss of our precious Freddie. It gave us a reprieve from our sorrow.

Our role at Cityfolk is to sign in volunteers for their shifts or free shows. One volunteer said to me today that she finds the nicest people at Volunteer Check-in. I smiled. Those of us who work in Volunteer Check-in are often the first people volunteers see when they arrive at the music festival for a shift. So we try to serve our fellow volunteers with courtesy, enthusiasm and a smile. We believe their stories about lost wallets and extra shifts and instructions from their area leaders. We make them feel welcome, valued and heard.

Ralph Waldo Emerson said, "It is one of the most beautiful compensations of life that no man can sincerely try to help another without helping himself." In helping others over the past two days, I have helped myself.

I have also been helped by the many people who expressed condolences to me and my family. You brought me comfort at this sad time. I am grateful for your support.