[2022-09-24] Saturday Synopsis #10

Story of the week: Update on #FiftyForFox
In May, I told you about Lauren Small, who is doing a 10 km run in each of Canada's provinces to raise money for The Terry Fox Foundation. Her campaign, #FiftyForFox Canadian Tour, refers not only to her fundraising goal of $50,000 but also to her age, a beautiful and vibrant 50 years. Lauren runs in memory of her parents: her mother died of cancer 30 years ago and her father succumbed to the disease 13 years ago.

Imagine my delight this week when a story about Lauren came up in my news feed from a local radio station in St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador. The story noted that Lauren has made 7 of her planned 10 runs and has raised more than $7,000 towards her goal. Her visit to Newfoundland and Labrador included a stop at the Terry Fox statue at Mile 0. How inspiring that must have been for her. I think she's pretty awesome, and I was honoured to meet her in person when she did her Ontario run in Ottawa.

Quote of the week: Apple juice from oranges
This week's quote is this: "Learn to deal with people for who they are, not who you want them to be. Life gets a lot easier when you stop expecting apple juice from oranges."

Song of the week: Manhã de Carnaval
In response to my post Portuguese, a friend sent me a lovely email about his own love affair with Brazilian Portuguese. He became completely fascinated with the language in the '90s, in large part due to an infatuation with a Brazilian singer named Elis Regina. He recommended I listen to a duet Elis recorded with Tom Jobim: Águas de Marco. He also suggested I listen to Manhã de Carnaval, performed by another Brazilian legend, Elizeth Cardosa, accompanied by Luiz Bonfá. My friend said that the latter piece haunted him for years, which I can understand.

Recipe of the week: Scones
One of the gifts of the Internet is having millions of recipes at my fingertips. When I'm not quite satisfied with one recipe for a given dish, I can simply pick another one and give it a whirl. This week, I tried a new recipe for scones: Best Scone Recipe by Little Sweet Baker. I like having a basic recipe that I can modify based on what I'm in the mood for or what I have on hand. This recipe offers variations for sweet and savoury scones, with the baker's choice of add-ins. I went the sweet route and mixed in pecans, dried cranberries and chocolate chips. I haven't yet decided whether I'm ready to marry this recipe, but I'm definitely looking forward to a second date.

Laugh of the week: Secrets
Don't tell secrets in the garden. The potatoes have eyes, the corn have ears, and the beanstalk.

Video of the week: Future service dogs
I love this video of future service dogs wearing vests for the first time. The puppies are adorable, rolling around as if doing so will rid them of this strange new garb.

Photo of the week: Piglets
This week's photo is from the Carp Fair. Chris and I visited the fair yesterday morning. It was unexpectedly cold, so spending some time in the barn with these piglets and other farm animals provided a dual benefit: cute overload and reprieve from the biting wind.