[2022-10-11] Kingston 2022

Chris, Mel and I traveled to Kingston today for a mini-vacation: two days, one night. My daughter and I jointly planned the getaway, picking and booking our activities in advance. We couldn't have asked for nicer weather: a sunny, warm, clear day in mid-October.

We all love bus tours around any city we visit, finding them to be an efficient way to learn a lot about a location. And even though Chris and I had previously taken Kingston's Trolley Tour, we didn't hesitate to do it again. Today's tour was exceptionally well done. Our trolley driver, Jenna, was a very funny, informed and energetic tour guide. She engaged participants, told stories about herself and her family, and was articulate, well-spoken and hilarious. Most importantly, she filled every second of the 75-minute tour with interesting and entertaining facts about Kingston. If you get a chance to do the Trolley Tour, take it. If you are lucky enough to get Jenna as your tour guide, consider it the icing on the cake.

After we disembarked the trolley, we had just enough time to grab lunch before heading out on our second planned activity: a very relaxing boat cruise along Kingston's harbour. This tour wasn't chockablock with details the way our on-land one had been, but that was OK. It gave us an opportunity to simply soak up the views of land, water and sun, as we gently floated along.

Following our second tour, we checked into our hotel, where a two-bedroom, two-bathroom suite awaited us. This is the way to travel with adult children.

Tomorrow, we will visit a lovely couple whom I would not likely have met had I not started chronicling my cancer journey through this blog. In fact, I've referenced the woman many times in Jenesis, though not by name. In an early post on What cancer cannot do, I shared this story: "Yesterday, someone I know through a family member asked to be added to my list of supporters (as opposed to the distribution list for this blog). Amazing what a small shift in perspective does." This kind and nurturing woman has been one of my most steadfast supporters, including gifting me my funny little pillow, which I took with me to every chemo treatment.

Being a tourist is fun. Visiting friends where they live is extra special.