[2023-02-01] Compendium of posts: language

A friend asked today what apps and resources I am using to learn Portuguese. She wanted to apply a similar approach to learning French.

I started identifying helpful posts, beginning with my recent article Six favourite language-learning tools. In that post, I shared six language-learning tools (an app, vocabulary builder, translator, dictionary, pronunciation helper and grammar guide) along with other tips for picking up a language.

As I continued to search through past posts, I realized that I had shared quite a lot of information to help and inspire someone wanting to learn a language. I should put this in an email, I thought. In fact, I should put this in the Jenesis Categories page, I concluded.

The Categories page is a selection of my most helpful blog posts, presenting useful information that Jenesis readers may want to come back to. I add to it every once in a while, often when prompted by a question like I received today.

What I find useful about the Categories page is that each entry includes a short blurb that reminds me of what the post is about and informs readers about the contents so that they can quickly decide whether it's the information they're seeking.

If you want to learn a language or know someone who's learning one now, you may enjoy one or more of these posts or want to forward them on:
  • [2021-06-23] Learning French - what I've discovered about learning French, focusing on the mindset and environment that are conducive to acquiring and using a second language
  • [2022-01-14] The rewards of being uncomfortable - from James Clear: "many rewards in life will elude you if you're not willing to be a little uncomfortable at first"; this includes learning a second language
  • [2022-09-14] Portuguese - the story of a lovely chat I had with the man who inspired me to learn Portuguese
  • [2022-11-10] Becoming an expert - how to apply tips for developing expertise when learning something new: commit, find mentors, practise in the real world, get comfortable with making mistakes, accept feedback, reflect and learn by doing
  • [2022-11-21] Virtuous circle of learning - how learning with others can be inspiring, and one suggestion for how to create associations to help you remember new vocabulary
  • [2022-11-23] 100 days of learning - an explanation of gamification in Duolingo and a reason to learn another language
  • [2023-01-12] 150 days of learning - tips to stay motivated when learning a language
  • [2023-01-18] Six favourite language-learning tools - six language-learning tools (an app, vocabulary builder, translator, dictionary, pronunciation helper and grammar guide) plus other tips for picking up a language
  • [2023-01-23] Number 1 in the Diamond League - how Duolingo's gamification motivates me to push myself more than I might otherwise—to maintain a streak, to earn additional points, to acquire a badge—and to thereby accelerate my learning
  • [2023-01-30] The pleasure zone - how Duolingo strikes the perfect balance between pleasure and challenge, with lessons repeated frequently enough to learn a concept and apply it in different contexts and enough curve balls thrown in to keep users on their toes
"The limits of my language mean the limits of my world." ~Ludwig Wittgenstein