[2023-02-04] Saturday Synopsis #29

Today is World Cancer Day. Established in 2000 by the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC), World Cancer Day aims to raise awareness, improve education and promote action by individuals, groups and governments to prevent cancer deaths and to facilitate equitable access to cancer treatment.

The themes of this week's Saturday Synopsis are cancer awareness, living in the moment and appreciating others.

3 Ideas From Me

[2021-01-30] Every story is unique
I've taken a little bit from each woman's story. Like Christa, I'm creating memories for my family. Like Johanna, I'm trying to keep cancer from assuming too great a place in my life. Like Michele, I'm working to turn my cancer diagnosis into something positive. Like Randalynn, I'm sharing personal details to reduce stigma around cancer. Like Annie and Linda, I'm striving to maintain hope and a positive outlook, regardless of what happens. Like Sharolyn, I'm endeavouring to do what I want, not what others tell me I should. And like Margaret, I am treasuring the love that has come into my life and the kindnesses that are extended to me every day.

[2021-02-01] Living in the moment
I've always found that there's nothing like helping someone else to get me out of my head and into my heart, and out of the future and into the present.

[2022-02-04] World Cancer Day
To avoid cancer, learn about the risk factors that you can modify to reduce your chances of developing cancer (see Causes of cancer on the UICC's Understanding Cancer page). The UICC says that "Over a third of all cancers can be prevented by reducing your exposure to risk factors such as tobacco, obesity, physical inactivity, infections, alcohol, environmental pollution, occupational carcinogens and radiation."

2 Quotes From Others

"What day is it?" asked Pooh.
"It’s today," squeaked Piglet.
"My favorite day," said Pooh.
~ A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

When you get a cancer diagnosis, you learn two things: that you are stronger than you imagine and you are loved more than you know.
~ Unknown

1 Question For You

Who brings out the best in you?