[2023-05-13] Saturday Synopsis #43

This week's Saturday Synopsis encourages you to find something to enjoy in every day, to notice little things that bring you joy, to remember that you are not alone, to see the potential in others (and yourself), to finish reading only those books that truly speak to you, and to simplify your commitments.

3 Ideas From Me

"If there's a message I want my blog to communicate it's that you can go through cancer or another serious illness or something really hard and still enjoy life every single day." I added that even on the days when I was recovering from chemotherapy—which I called my pyjama days—I enjoyed something, such as a good book or a movie. I saw this quiet time as a gift. "Because you can be sure that if I were feeling 100%, I wouldn't be reading a book or watching a movie. I'd be working. I'd be doing something. I'd be washing the car." So a little forced down time for this self-described workaholic was not a bad thing.

When we live a life of gratitude, we are more likely to notice the little things that bring joy: the bleat of a baby goat, the attention of a llama to someone with treats, a father racing his son to the mailbox (and letting his kid win), the tender green leaves bursting forth from deciduous trees in spring, appointments that run on time, courteous drivers and smooth-running traffic, juicy fruit, a meal that comes together effortlessly, a message from an old friend, the hug of a loved one, a visit to the country, getting the answer to Final Jeopardy.

What my friend grieved in relation to her child and I grieved in relation to my cancer are a loss of the life we thought we would have. When we think about our futures, we often imagine the best case scenario: a long relationship with a loving spouse, healthy children, a satisfying job with a respectful boss, good health that takes us well beyond retirement. When this picture doesn't materialize, it can be devastating. It can feel like we're the only ones not living a "normal" life. That's where receiving confirmation that we are not alone is so beneficial.

2 Quotes From Others

Tapping potential is, by definition, seeing others for what they can grow to be, rather than what they are.
~ The Neuroscience of Talent Management

A recipe for getting more out of what you read: Start more books. Quit most of them. Read the great ones twice.
~ James Clear

1 Question For You

"If there's one change that you could make today that would have the biggest impact on your life in terms of productivity, effectiveness, and being able to do the things you want to do, it would be to reduce the commitments in your life," asserts Babauta. "With that one change, you could free up the time you need to focus on the important work and to achieve the things you want to achieve." This could include working on projects you're passionate about, exercising, reading, or spending time with loved ones. To determine which commitments to keep and which to eliminate, take an inventory of your engagements. "Now take a close look at each thing on the list and ask yourself:
  • How does this give my life value?
  • How important is it to me?
  • Is it in line with my life priorities and values?
  • How would it affect my life if I dropped out? Does this further my life goals?"
Babauta recommends that you start with something small to eliminate rather than going on a crash diet. "Look for the thing that gives you the least return for your invested time and effort. That thing that's least in line with your life values and priorities and goals." Send your regrets and don't leave any room for negotiation; you could tell the person, truthfully, that you're trying to cut back on your commitments because you've been overloaded. Then replace the eliminated appointment with a task tied to one of your goals. Rinse and repeat.