[2023-06-19] CA125 and breast reconstruction

As I sit down to write tonight's post, I realize just how tired I feel. Not physically and not necessarily emotionally. But my brain is drained.

Today, I met with Dr. Zhang (plastic surgeon), who will do my breast reconstruction on July 7, after Dr. Cordeiro (breast surgical oncologist) removes my breast tissue. I left the appointment with Dr. Zhang feeling like I will be in good hands. That doesn't change the fact that this is a significant operation, which will bring discomfort, stress and recovery. But I try not to dwell on such things. I remember what a wise friend said to me early in my cancer journey, "There's no way out but through." I will go through this and come out the other side, just as so many others have done before me.

I also took the opportunity of being at The Ottawa Hospital to get my monthly blood work done, as part of my ovarian cancer surveillance. Later, when I opened the results, I yelled down to my daughter in her home office, "Guess what my CA125 is this month?" She could tell by my excitement that the number was good. She suspected a 7. And she was right! My 9 from two months ago dropped to an 8 last month and to a 7 this month. That seems like unequivocal evidence that my CA125 remains stable and that I am not experiencing a cancer recurrence.

I probably underestimate the amount of angst I'm feeling about my upcoming surgery and the nervousness I experience every month as I wait for my CA125 result to come in. It was nice to get such a positive result in relation to ovarian cancer on the same day that I spent so much time thinking about breast cancer and how to avoid it. The former shows me what's possible with good science and good healthcare professionals. I'm counting on both of these to see me through to a positive conclusion in relation to the latter.

Now it's time to relax, finish my puzzle, do some Duolingo, enjoy a cup of tea, and go to bed early. My brain is tired, but it's been a good day.