[2023-08-25] The best tool for learning a language

Yesterday I had a conversation about languages with two fellow volunteers at the Nostalgia Music Festival. One had come to Canada as an international student and was interested in learning French to connect with more people in his work and community. And the other wanted to improve her French to advance in her career.

While I shared my love of Duolingo and how the app has helped me to learn Brazilian Portuguese, I also talked about the ways I had acquired French over my lifetime. I spoke of developing an ear for French from hearing my mom and relatives speak the language in my youth, of studying French in elementary and high school as well as university (it was my minor), of having access to French language training through my employment in Canada's Public Service, of marrying my French-speaking husband (and adopting his accent), and of using French in my job. In fact, the activity that helped me the most was actually using the language, especially in situations where I couldn't simply say a few words in French and then switch back to English.

I mentioned that I had created a compendium of posts about acquiring a language in my blog. But I had forgotten that I also have a section on my Categories page on learning a language. Today, I updated the learning a language section within Categories to include eight additional posts that I had published since sharing the compendium.

My approach to learning a second or third language may not work for everyone. Indeed, in response to a question from one of the volunteers last night about whether Duolingo is better or worse than other language learning apps, I said, "The best tool is the one you actually use." The same could be said of exercise: the best exercise is the one you enjoy and will keep doing day after day.

It reminds me of something Atomic Habits author James Clear included in his weekly newsletter from yesterday:

My approach is to empower, not to prescribe. I'm not interested in telling you which habits you should build or which choices you should make. You know what works for your life and circumstances better than I ever could. Instead, I want to equip and empower you with ideas and strategies so you can make your own choices and do the things you want to do. I'll give you the hammer, you decide where to drive the nail.

In the same way, I hope that among all the experiences I've shared from learning French and Brazilian Portuguese, readers will find a few ideas and inspirations that will help them make progress in their own efforts to acquire a new language.