[2023-10-26] Talent and passion

A friend wrote to me today about what she called "the afterlife of retirement." She said that she will soon begin the final two years of her career and wondered what advice I might offer to her and other soon-to-retire folks.

I've written quite a bit on retirement and will put together a compendium of posts on the subject in the near future. In the meantime, I share this quote from physicist Michio Kaku, whom I quoted in Life after cancer, COVID and career:

Beyond work and love, I would add two other ingredients that give meaning to life. First, to fulfill whatever talents we are born with. However blessed we are by fate with different abilities and strengths, we should try to develop them to the fullest, rather than allow them to atrophy and decay. ... Second, we should try to leave the world a better place than when we entered it. As individuals, we can make a difference, whether it is to probe the secrets of Nature, to clean up the environment and work for peace and social justice, or to nurture the inquisitive, vibrant spirit of the young by being a mentor and a guide.

What a simple formula for retirement:
  1. develop your talents to the fullest, and
  2. leave the world a better place.

And though Kaku is not explicit on this, I believe that when we employ our talents in service of a cause we're passionate about, we are doubly fulfilled. We hit the sweet spot between doing what we're good at and doing what we love.

After I retired, I was approached several times with opportunities for paid work. One involved meaningful work but would have required my exercising talents I didn't have or no longer cared to make use of. Another would have enabled me to use my talents, but offered little in the way of passion and purpose. By contrast, my role as a director with the Ovarian Cancer Canada Board of Directors ticks both boxes: work to which I can apply my talents in communication and management, and a subject that is dear to my heart.

As my friend begins the final countdown on her career, she could begin by taking an inventory of her talents and passions. Understanding these would help prepare her for retirement and make it easier for her to respond to the opportunities that come her way and to seek others.