[2024-02-03] Saturday Synopsis #81

Three years ago, I wrote in Every story is unique that one story is not the only story. Though many people have shared their experience with cancer, my story is unique and touches different people in different ways.

I like to look back on old posts, to recall where I was and what I was doing at this point in 2021, 2022 and 2023. Two years ago, I was in the throes of radiation treatment. While that's an experience I would not want to repeat, I'm glad I documented it. I've already drawn on those posts to provide advice to someone else starting pelvic radiation.

As much as I have written about my cancer journey, I don't write about it as often I think about it. For example, since my prophylactic bilateral mastectomy to avoid breast cancer, not a day has gone by over the past six months that I haven't thought about breast reconstruction. Part of my coping strategy—for better or for worse—is to put it out of my mind, to not dwell on it, including by writing about it. The difference between the period I'm currently in and other occasions when I wrote extensively about all aspects of my health is that, at this moment, I'm in limbo. I'm waiting for the next surgery. Writing about what might occur in the future would be tantamount to living in the future. I've learned that I'm happiest when I live in the present.

That said, here are some notable snippets from past posts.

[2021-01-28] Music as medicine
"Music is strong medicine.... I believe that it can act as a vaccine against depression and against despair. It lifts our spirits and reminds us that, as human beings, we are all so deeply connected."
~ Séan McCann

[2021-01-30] Every story is unique
"What’s not in the box is perhaps even more significant. No statistics on cancer. No death rates by year or type. No cautionary tales of recurrence rates. No newspaper clippings on new and positive treatment options. No obituaries of friends who’ve died of cancer. There is only me, my story, my experience of my cancer."
~ Johanna Bertin

[2021-01-31] Building campfires
[Harvard professor Francesca] Gino compares connecting with others, even if only online, to building a campfire, and recommends that we make time to talk to people whose company we enjoy. In doing so, we may find comfort in knowing that others are experiencing similar challenges.

[2021-02-01] Living in the moment
"We spend precious hours fearing the inevitable. It would be wise to use that time adoring our families, cherishing our friends and living our lives."
~ Maya Angelou

[2021-02-03] Presence
"Spend time away from your phone and computer every day. Read a book, write (not type!), go for a walk, practice yoga, or eat your lunch without an electronic device nearby. Do something daily that doesn’t require a connection to the internet."
~ Catherine Beard

[2022-01-29] Angels
As I reflect on my own life, I have met many angels. Some—as Anne says—wore nurse's uniforms, especially the nurse who helped me prepare for chemotherapy and a woman who studied to be a nurse who is a constant cheerleader. Some wore surgical gowns and performed life-saving operations on me. Some helped me see the humour in my treatment. Some boosted my confidence at work or saved me from unhealthy work situations. Many have encouraged me to share my story. Few know they have been my angels.

[2023-01-30] The pleasure zone
"Unfortunately, most on-ramps to exercise are at an intensity too high for previously-sedentary people to find them pleasurable. If people go to a fitness class, or focus on running a particular distance at a particular speed, they’ll likely miss the pleasure zone entirely. Refocusing on exercising only for one’s own individual pleasure, as slowly as one prefers, and only at intensities that are pleasurable, is more likely to motivate repeat and habitual exercising. At that point, the enjoyment of exercise pleasure can build on itself, motivating longer and longer intervals of experiencing the pleasure."
~ Sarah Perry

[2023-01-31] Writing through cancer
What is expressive writing? Quoting researcher and author James Pennebaker, [webinar leader Dr.] Sharon [Bray] said: "It is writing about thoughts and feelings related to stressful or traumatic life experiences without concern for style, spelling, punctuation or grammar." The end of Pennebaker's quote is crucial. Expressive writing is not creative writing or writing that is honed and polished for an external audience. It is writing that focuses on the stressful or traumatic experience without worrying about how the writing sounds or how someone else might judge it.

[2023-02-03] Francis Ford Coppola on art
The creation of art is an act of learning. It is impossible for an artist to make art without being changed in some way. They might realize something about themselves, learn a better technique for producing their art, or become more confident in themselves and the products of their effort.