[2021-01-28] Music as medicine

In honour of Bell Let's Talk Day and as a follow-up to yesterday's post, today's piece focuses on music and its power to console and inspire as well as to lift us up when we're feeling down. Yesterday, I passed on key messages that singer and mental health advocate Séan McCann shared at a town hall I listened to. One I didn't impart is this one: "Music is strong medicine." McCann added: "I believe that it can act as a vaccine against depression and against despair. It lifts our spirits and reminds us that, as human beings, we are all so deeply connected."

I, too, have always found that music is magical. As I shared in Chemo #3 and 100th post, I watched the Helen Reddy biopic when receiving my third chemotherapy treatment, and when she sang "I Am Woman," these words had me in tears:

Oh yes, I am wise
But it's wisdom born of pain
Yes, I've paid the price
But look how much I gained
If I have to, I can do anything
I am strong
(Strong)
I am invincible
(Invincible)
I am woman

Listening to those words again today, I teared up all over againbut not, as I had said previously, tears of sorrow. No, they were tears of courage and tenacity.

So this afternoon, I assembled a compendium of song passages that I hope will inspire, encourage and reassure you, whatever challenge you may be facing.

If you need inspiration... "One More One and Only" by Séan McCann (Spotify, YouTube)
See the sun up in the sky
Soon we will be shining
We're heading for the light
Where everything's alright
Where nobody's lonely or feeling lost tonight
We're heading for the light
We're gonna win this fight

If you're feeling rejected or unloved... "Extraordinary" by Victory (Spotify, YouTube)
Believe me when I tell ya
That you are a star
And just because they don’t see it
That doesn't mean that you aren’t
Oh Oh
They don't know they don't know they don't know they don't know that you are extraordinary
You’re extraordinary
They don't know they don't know they don't know they don't know that you are extraordinary
You’re extraordinary...
I resolve to find strength somewhere else
I won't let the absence of their love tear me down anymore
I will love myself

If you need help because you're in a dark place... "Let It Rain" by Joshua Hyslop (Spotify, YouTube)
I'm not going down
No, I'm not going down
No, I'm not going down
And if it rains
Well, let it fall
Let my heart be open wide
Through the storm
Through the storm
If it rains, oh, let it rain
Let it pour, let it pour
Let my heart be open wide, now

If you're reluctant to reach out for help... "Lean on Me" by Bill Withers (Spotify, YouTube)
Lean on me
When you're not strong
And I'll be your friend
I'll help you carry on...
For it won't be long
Till I'm gonna need somebody to lean on
Please swallow your pride
If I have things you need to borrow
For no one can fill
Those of your needs that you won't let show

If you're looking for reassurance that you'll get through a hardship... "We'll Make It Through" by Ray LaMontagne (Spotify, YouTube)
Had our share of the pain
Of the clouds, and the rain
Lean on me, and I'll lean on you
And together, we'll get through
We always do
We always do

If you need a reminder of the beauty and preciousness of life... "State of Grace" by River City Junction (Spotify)
Sun shines through my window
It shines down on my face
A gift warm and tender
A fleeting state of grace
And I turn my face up to the sky
Grateful just to be alive
These simple moments make me realize
How precious is the gift of life

If you feel like you've turned a corner... "Here Comes the Sun" by The Beatles (Spotify, YouTube)
Little darling, it's been a long cold lonely winter
Little darling, it seems like years since it's been here
Here comes the sun do, do, do
Here comes the sun
And I say it's all right

If music soothes you... "Drift Away" by Dobie Gray (Spotify, YouTube)
And when my mind is free
You know a melody can move me
And when I'm feelin' blue
A guitar's comin' through to soothe me
Thanks for the joy that you've given me
I want you to know I believe in your song
And rhythm and rhyme and harmony
You've helped me along, makin' me strong
Oh, give me the beat, boys, and free my soul
I wanna get lost in your rock 'n' roll and drift away

If you need to call on your inner strength or if you're longing for home... "There's a Place" by Séan McCann (Spotify, YouTube)
There's a place in my heart
Where a fire grows when it gets dark
Where the rain never falls
And my worries are all small
Take me back to my home
No more I'll wander, no more I'll roam
Let me sail those friendly shores
Smiling faces, open doors

If you're striving to live in the moment... "Heavenly Day" by Patty Griffin (Spotify, YouTube)
Tomorrow may rain with sorrow
Here's a little time we can borrow
Forget all our troubles in these moments so few
Oh because right now the only thing
That all that we really have to do
Is have ourselves, a heavenly day

If you want to help someone who is struggling... "Burden" by Foy Vance (Spotify, YouTube)
Come to me my brother and I will sit with you awhile
Pretty soon I'll see you smile
And you know you will
No matter how much you are hurting right now
You know that everything will change in time
So let me carry your burden...
Oh I just might see it in another light
Got no dog here in the fight
I could carry your burden, o brother mine

If you want to invite someone to turn to you... "Love in a Cup" by Outside I'm a Giant (Spotify, YouTube)
And if you're still hurtin'
Call out to me
Love in a cup
Is what I will pour
If you're stuck in a rut
You'll always find
A place at my table
When others are blind
To your cause
I know real moments don't come 'round a lot
So drop on by
It's brewing for you
Under my smoking chimney tonight

And if you need to remind yourself of all the love that surrounds you... "Love" by David Fostera beautiful instrumental piece (Spotify, YouTube)

If you have songs that lift you up when you're feeling down, I would love to hear your suggestions.

c lifts our spirits and reminds us that we are all deeply connected.