[2024-09-11] 2b the sequel

Short story

I am home from surgery. I feel groggy and a little uncomfortable, though I'm managing thanks to all the pain medications I have at my disposal. Mostly, I'm relieved that the surgery is behind me. Thank you for your incredible support, your best wishes and your positive energy.

Backstory

Why "2b the sequel"? I've been using the Hamlet-inspired expression 2b or not 2b for several years to describe my options regarding a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy and breast reconstruction.

It all began in spring 2021 when I learned that I had inherited a mutation in my BRCA2 gene. That mutation led to my ovarian cancer and put me at a high risk for breast cancer as well: 50 to 85%, to be exact.

So on June 2, 2021, I met with a breast surgical oncologist at The Ottawa Hospital to discuss my options for reducing that risk. Option 1 was to continue with annual mammograms and breast MRIs through Ontario's High-Risk Breast Screening Program. Option 2 was to have a prophylactic bilateral mastectomy. While Option 1 would not decrease my risk of getting breast cancer, only the likelihood that it would be caught early if it developed, Option 2 would substantially reduce my risk—dropping it to 5 to 8%.

The next question was what breast reconstruction to have. We discussed three choices for Option 2: (a) no reconstruction (that is, going flat), (b) reconstruction with implants, (c) reconstruction with my own tissue. For a variety of reasons explained in 2b or not 2b, I ultimately chose Option 2b.

On July 7, 2023, I had my prophylactic bilateral mastectomy with immediate reconstruction using breast implants (2b done). Unfortunately, I developed an infection associated with my right breast implant. So, on August 3, 2023, my right implant was removed. I was now living with a mix of Option 2b and Option 2a and would do so for the next year.

On February 7, 2024, I decided to proceed with Option 2c: reconstruction of two matching breasts using tissue from my abdomen.

But as I awaited the date for this surgery, new information came to light and on July 22, 2024, I returned once again to Option 2b. We would start over with two new implants, this time inserted under the chest muscle.

Today, I had surgery at the Queensway Carleton Hospital to remove the left breast implant that was put in a year ago at the time of my bilateral mastectomy and to insert two new implants, which will be gradually inflated as the skin of my right breast stretches to accommodate the new device.

And that's why I call this post "2b the sequel."

Longer story to follow

I'll share a longer story tomorrow, including some of the beautiful people I encountered today.