[2024-10-10] En route to Wrexham

Yesterday, a friend sent me a cute video of cats at the airport, each representing a different type of traveler: the excited one, the frequent flyer, the one who's always running late, snacking 24/7, already starting the vacation vibe, nervous about everything, can't stop working, falling asleep anywhere anytime, the lost child, the one with 500 things. He asked which one I was. That was easy: the one who's nervous about everything.

I worry about getting to the airport on time, encountering issues going through security, losing things (especially my phone and my passport), experiencing delays because of bad weather or problems with the plane, forgetting things. I can control some of these (leaving early, making and checking a packing list, being extra careful with my stuff) but not others (weather, airplane issues). Perhaps if I were a frequent flyer, this would all feel like a walk in the park.

Nevertheless, I'm excited about what the next four days will hold for my son and me. I'm looking forward to spending time with Shane. I'm honoured to be participating in the first Terry Fox Run in Wales and thrilled to be meeting Terry's brother Fred. I'm eager to visit some of the places and to meet some of the people featured in the Welcome to Wrexham docuseries about the Wrexham AFC football club and its town. I'm humbled to have won the Terry Fox Wrexham Run contest and to be representing Canada in Wales.

I'm also pleased that I've largely recovered from the breast reconstruction surgery I had exactly four weeks ago today. My energy is at about 90% of my normal level, which is naturally high. My pain is minimal, such that I'm taking only a few acetaminophen tablets per day. I'm sleeping surprisingly well considering that I spend the night on my back. And if I need help with lifting heavy things, such as my luggage, I'll have my strong son beside me every step of the way.

I will do my best to document our journey here and on social media. To Wrexham!