[2022-01-28] How has a loved one's cancer affected you?

In response to my post How to talk to someone who has cancer, a friend recommended that I do an article on how a cancer diagnosis affects the immediate family. While I have done a post on Caring for the caregivers to remind readers that cancer affects not only the patient but their loved ones as well and acknowledged in Permission to feel all emotions that the loved ones of cancer patients go through their own negative feelings, I haven't really explored the impact of cancer on family members and friends.

So I'm turning to you to help me to answer this question: "How has a loved one's cancer affected you?"

One friend told me that a cancer diagnosis among family members and friends has left him feeling frustrated, powerless and fatigued. Another person noted that she was treated differently after supporting her husband who was dealing with cancer.

For those who have been affected by a cancer diagnosis in a loved one, what would you like others to know?

I will share a summary of responses, without attribution, in a future post.