[2023-05-06] Saturday Synopsis #42

Today, Chris, Shane, Mel and I went for a walk at the Arboretum, located between the Central Experimental Farm and Dow's Lake. We also walked around the lake to stroll among the tulips at Commissioner's Park. It was a beautiful day to be out en famille. Sunny days, walking, spending time with loved ones, feeling grateful, focusing on what we can control and what we know to be true, and making progress on our goals—these are the themes of this week's Saturday Synopsis.

3 Ideas From Me

[2021-04-30] Survivors
Our conversation reminded me of a helpful article that came up in my news feed this morning: Positive Thinking Is Powerful During and After Cancer Treatment. Writing on curetoday.com, Amy Paturel acknowledges that while studies looking at whether optimism improves cancer and helps people with cancer live longer are largely inconclusive, scientists do recognize plenty of perks associated with positive thinking. She notes: "While there are no data to suggest that staying on the sunny side improves outcomes, there’s no doubt that if you have hope, you’re more motivated to try complementary treatments, ask questions and get second opinions. You’re also more likely to advocate for yourself."

[2021-05-03] Processing emotions: a how-to
I can recall one occasion when I was wrestling with intense emotion. I headed out the door and walked and talked to myself for an hour, until I had worked everything out in my mind. Unfortunately, I had walked in a straight line, which meant that it took another hour of walking for me to get back home, but I felt as encouraged on the return trip as I had felt discouraged on the away trip.

[2022-05-06] Speech during Mental Health Week
Gratitude was essential to my emotional resilience. I chose to focus on what I could do as opposed to what I couldn't. I chose to use my story as a way of saying "you can go through cancer and still enjoy life." And I chose to see the benefits that cancer brought to my life—love, connection with others, appreciation for my life and loved ones. That said, I don't wish cancer on anyone, and I wish that I had never gotten it. But I did, so I was determined to take as much good out of my predicament as possible and to be a light to others.

2 Quotes From Others

[2021-04-30] Survivors
"I learned to ask myself: ‘Do you have proof that a certain bad thing is going to happen?’ If I don’t have proof, the next question is, ‘How do you feel when you believe this sad story?’" Cettina says.
~ Terri Cettina, a survivor of pancreatic cancer

[2021-05-06] MITs and other habits
1. Examine your task list. Take a look at everything on your list and ask yourself the following questions about each one: Will this have an impact that will last beyond this week or this month? How will it change my job, my career, my life? How will this further a long-term goal of mine? How important is that goal?...
2. Start with your goals. If you start by identifying the things you really want to accomplish in the next year, you can plan your tasks so that you are doing things each day to further those goals along. Let's say you have three long-term goals―each day, choose a task from your list that will move you closer to those goals.
~ Leo Babauta

1 Question For You

What are you looking forward to doing this summer?