[2023-06-10] Saturday Synopsis #47

This evening, we took a stroll down Preston Street in Ottawa, site of the Ottawa Italian Festival. It brought back memories of breakfasts, lunches and after-work get-togethers at various bars, pubs and restaurants in Little Italy. I spent 28 years working at Natural Resources Canada on Booth Street, just a few streets away from Preston. In my last few years with the department, a colleague and I would walk up Preston Street from the transitway to work every morning and back again each afternoon. I loved these walks. Italian Week Ottawa runs from June 8-18, 2023.

3 Ideas From Me

[2021-06-08] Everything is copy
Sharing stories also helps us to connect with other people. When we talk about an embarrassing incident, we demonstrate humility, a sense of humour, and a willingness to poke fun at ourselves. When we describe an error we committed, we display an openness to learning from mistakes and an acceptance that we're all human. And when we share a health struggle, we often show that we care more about educating the other person than about preserving our own modesty. All of this makes us likable and relatable.

[2021-06-09] Beauty
That's when I learned that smiling makes anyone instantaneously more attractive. A smile communicates kindness, love and respect as well as an openness that makes others feel safe. Since having cancer and losing my hair, I have deliberately shared photos of my bald head. These images serve as a reminder that how we look isn't what makes us beautiful. It's the positive energy we put out into the world and the way we make others feel about themselves that make us attractive.

[2022-06-06] Surviving and thriving
So every time I hear of someone who has survived for multiple years following treatment for cancer, especially ovarian cancer, I am encouraged. It gives me hope that I, too, will live for many more years. Equally important is hearing of people who haven't merely survived cancer but who are thriving. People who are grateful for every day they have on this Earth. People who are traveling, spending time with loved ones and living life to the fullest. People who are inspired by their encounter with cancer to help those who come after them.

2 Quotes From Others

[2021-06-10] Leaders and followers
I've always thought that the way you address someone and the way you engage with them is a huge determinant of what actually comes forth from them.
~ John O'Donohue

[2022-06-10] A very pleasant lady
A few months after my husband and I moved to a small Massachusetts town I grumbled to a resident about the poor service at the library, hoping she would repeat my complaints to the librarian. The next time I went to the library, the librarian had set aside two bestsellers for me and a new biography for my husband. What's more, she appeared to be genuinely glad to see me. Later I reported the miraculous change to my friend. "I suppose you told her how poor we thought the service was?" I asked. "No," she confessed. "In fact—I hope you don't mind—I told her your husband was amazed at the way she had built up this small town library, and that you thought she showed unusually good taste in the new books she ordered.
~ Lillian Moore

1 Question For You

[2021-06-07] Health history
Has your mother or sister had breast cancer? Does your mother, father, sister, or brother have diabetes? Did your mother, father, brother, or sister have colorectal (colon) cancer before age 50? If you answered "yes," you are more likely to get the same disease as your parent or sibling and should consider earlier screening. Talk to your doctor about when to start screening and what other steps to take to prevent the disease or find it early. Finding disease early can often mean better health in the long run.
~ U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention