[2023-06-24] Saturday Synopsis #49

This week's photo is one I took Thursday of a great egret on Rice Lake.

3 Ideas From Me

[2021-06-19] It's in the giving that I take
Our growth comes from all the demanding stuff we do in our jobs and lives: working hard, often against the clock; figuring out how to do something that's never been done before; solving a problem that has festered for years; investing time and energy in our employees when we're feeling pressed; supporting colleagues to help them succeed; working from home while ensuring our kids keep learning; fighting cancer with dignity and a smile. These are the things that help us to develop and to become the best versions of ourselves.

[2022-06-18] Household chores schedule
Regular cleaning reverses the Broken Windows problem. In his book The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference, Malcolm Gladwell explained the Broken Windows theory using the example of a neighbourhood: "If a window is broken and left unrepaired, people walking by will conclude that no one cares and no one is in charge. Soon, more windows will be broken, and the sense of anarchy will spread from the building to the street on which it faces, sending a signal that anything goes. In a city, relatively minor problems like graffiti, public disorder, and aggressive pandhandling...are all the equivalent of broken windows, invitations to more serious crimes." In the home, clutter has a way of expanding. But once there's a place for everything and everything is in its place, it's easier to maintain a tidy home. Similarly, when the bathroom is clean, that smudge of toothpaste in the sink looks out of place—easily solved with a quick swish of the hand.

[2022-06-20] Cleaning and mental health
Cleaning and decluttering not only help people gain a sense of control in their lives, but may also have a calming effect because of their repetitive nature. These activities can also improve people's mood and serve as a source of accomplishment and satisfaction. A study at Indiana University found that "people with clean houses tend to be healthier than those with messy or cluttered homes." A study at the University of Connecticut found that "in times of high stress, people default to repetitive behaviors like cleaning because it gives them a sense of control during a chaotic time." The article cites the Anxiety and Depression Association of America, which states that "the physical activity of cleaning coupled with the end result of a cleaner home helps reduce stress, feelings of anxiety, and depressive symptoms." The article also states that "researchers have discovered that people are less irritable, less distracted, more productive, and better able to process information with an uncluttered and organized work area."

2 Quotes From Others

[2021-06-21] Tiny improvements
Too often, we convince ourselves that massive success requires massive action. Whether it is losing weight, building a business, writing a book, winning a championship, or achieving any other goal, we put pressure on ourselves to make some earth-shattering improvement that everyone will talk about. Meanwhile, improving by 1 percent isn't particularly notable―sometimes it isn't even noticeable―but it can be far more meaningful, especially in the long run. The difference a tiny improvement can make over time is astounding.
~ James Clear

[2021-06-24] Healing power of nature
I cannot say exactly how nature exerts its calming and organizing effects on our brains, but I have seen in my patients the restorative and healing powers of nature and gardens, even for those who are deeply disabled neurologically. In many cases, gardens and nature are more powerful than any medication.
~ Oliver Sacks

1 Question For You

[2022-06-23] I had cancer
The biggest impact cancer has had on my life is its influence on my perspective. I am no longer interested in trading time for money. I want to be present for my loved ones in ways I wasn't before cancer and retirement. I try to avoid stress, negativity and drama. I set my priorities based on what brings me joy, not on what others might recommend for me. I value flexibility—the ability to do what I want to do when I want to do it—even while enjoying a predictable routine. I am keenly aware of the importance of my physical and mental health and endeavour to set and protect my boundaries. I appreciate the creative freedom I have to write about whatever strikes me on any given day.

What life-changing event influenced your perspective?