[2024-07-17] Join me in supporting Ovarian Cancer Canada's Walk of Hope

In 2020, I was one of approximately 3,000 Canadians diagnosed with ovarian cancer. Every year since then, another 3,000 people have received this same shocking news.

When first diagnosed, I turned to the Internet, despite having been advised not to Google. Fortunately, one of the first websites I landed on was that of Ovarian Cancer Canada. I reached out to the organization and its response helped me immediately feel better informed and less alone.

Days after my diagnosis, I began to document and share my experience with ovarian cancer through my blog, Jenesis. I often wrote about the work of Ovarian Cancer Canada—its funding of research, its advocacy on behalf of people affected by the disease, and its direct support to ovarian cancer patients and survivors (such as here, here and here). Beginning in 2021, I participated in Ovarian Cancer Canada's annual Walk of Hope. And last fall, I joined Ovarian Cancer Canada's Board of Directors. Through all these interactions with the organization, I have seen firsthand the concrete and inspiring work it is doing.

Ovarian Cancer Canada is the only national charity that champions the health and well-being of people with ovarian cancer and others at risk of this disease. The more than $33 million raised to date through the annual Walk of Hope has gone toward funding research, enabling advocacy, and providing support to individuals directly and indirectly affected by this disease.

Today, I registered for the 2024 Walk of Hope. I hope you will join me in contributing to Ovarian Cancer Canada, which you can do through my fundraising page.

I should note that I will be having breast reconstruction surgery on August 20, 2024, following a bilateral mastectomy in 2023 to reduce my risk of breast cancer. You see, as a result of having ovarian cancer, I learned that I carry a mutation in my BRCA2 gene (BRCA stands for breast cancer). Mutations in the BRCA1 or BRCA2 genes increase one's risk for breast cancer and ovarian cancer. Before my bilateral mastectomy, my risk of breast cancer was estimated to be 50-80%. Following my bilateral mastectomy, that risk dropped to 5-8%. My August surgery will rectify a complication I experienced after last year's mastectomy, but may mean that I am not able to actually walk in the Walk of Hope.

Nevertheless, if I am not able to be there in person, I will be there in spirit—cheering on other ovarian cancer survivors, the friends and family of people who have faced the disease, and dedicated individuals working hard to improve outcomes for those living with ovarian cancer and those at risk of the disease.

I hope that you will still support my fundraising efforts even if I am unable to walk on September 8. A donation of any size is appreciated. Together, we can help to advance Ovarian Cancer Canada's work to realize a future without this disease.