[2023-12-02] Saturday Synopsis #72

This week, I had my four-month check-in with my radiation oncologist, as a follow-up to my perianal skin cancer. Dr. Jin didn't need to do a physical exam because I had brought with me the report of my recent colonoscopy, which was unremarkable. It was a fast and happy appointment.

[2020-11-26] Happiness
"Happiness is not a state of euphoria, but rather a state of wellness, peace, and innate love."
~ Cyndie Spiegel, A Year of Positive Thinking

[2020-11-28] From the inside out
"We write for so many reasons. We write and share our stories because it's fun, it's important and because it changes us from the inside out. And others are changed by our offerings."
~ Sark, Juicy Pens Thirsty Paper

[2020-11-29] The value of a smile
"The Value of a Smile at Christmas... And if in the last-minute rush of Christmas buying some of our salespeople should be too tired to give you a smile, may we ask you to leave one of yours?
For nobody needs a smile so much as those who have none left to give!"
~ Dale Carnegie, How to Win Friends and Influence People

[2020-11-30] MRI: Most Respectful Interpretation
I can still remember exactly where I was 10 years ago when a colleague said, "Why don't you do an MRI on that?" ... What she meant by MRI was a Most Respectful Interpretation. In other words, what is the most positive way to see a situation when you're not sure of the other person's intent? ... The reality is that we often don't know why others do what they do. There's little value in assuming the worst when, in fact, the opposite may be true.

[2020-12-01] Self-love
I have cancer, I'm bald, and I have a lumpy, bumpy belly, but I enjoy every day!

[2021-11-28] When a tree falls
When an obstacle to her dreams impeded her progress, [Nevin Harrison] simply created a new path to the Olympics, winning a gold medal in the inaugural appearance of women's canoeing at the games. It made me think about my cancer: the shock of the diagnosis, its impact on my trajectory, and the opportunity it offered to be more present with my family. When a tree falls in the forest, make a new path.

[2021-11-30] Your gifts
"Never underestimate the power of your voice, your perspective, your uniqueness. That inexplicably divine cocktail of skills, perspectives, strengths and quirks is a one-time event in the Universe. There has never been, nor will there ever be, another you. So yes, you matter. And yes, the world really does need that special gift that only you have."
~ Marie Forleo

[2021-12-01] You are valuable
"You are valuable just because you exist. Not because of what you do or what you have done, but simply because you are."
~ Max Lucado

[2022-11-28] Freedom to choose
Two things haven't changed since retirement. The first is that I'm always doing something, striving to put my time to productive use. The second is that I always have more I would like to accomplish than hours in the day. It's just that, in retirement, it's easier to say, "Tomorrow is another day."

[2022-12-01] Music and memories
As you get together with friends and family in the coming weeks, consider posing a question or two about the first music they remember hearing or songs they liked to listen to in their youth. It may open the door to a vault of beautiful memories.

[2022-12-02] Articulating experience and skills
You probably have more skills, talents, competencies and strengths than you realize. Knowing what these are can give you the confidence to apply to a job that, on first blush, might have felt beyond your current competencies, and to put your best foot forward in an interview.