[2023-08-19] Saturday Synopsis #57

My Saturday Synopsis posts never fail to uplift me in some way. They are Past Jen speaking to Present Jen, reminding her of things she may have forgotten.

Exactly two years ago today, I shared in Revive and have courage a quote from Vincent van Gogh that a friend had shared with me:

I also believe that it may happen that one succeeds, and one mustn’t begin by despairing; even if one loses here and there, and even if one sometimes feels a sort of decline, the point is nevertheless to revive and have courage, even though things don’t turn out as one first thought.

This quote is especially meaningful today as I've been experiencing new pains in the last few days—aches that have me reaching for pain medications and a heating pad. It's discouraging to have felt that my healing was well on its way, only to encounter another setback. While I don't think there's anything seriously wrong, it's frustrating nonetheless.

Two years ago, I wrote in my post: "I agree with van Gogh that we must revive and have courage when things don't turn out as we thought they would. At the same time, we mustn't despair if overcoming adversity takes time." So today, I will revive, have courage and make peach jam (featured in tonight's photo).

3 + 3 Ideas From Me

[2020-08-14] First oncologist visit
And so I will hold tight to all the love I've received.... I will accept all the support that has been offered and take solace in it. I will surrender to the fact that I don't need to be strong all the time. I will be kind to myself and invite those saddened by my situation to do the same for themselves. I will try to live in the moment. I will strive to be there for others and to find meaning in what I contribute to the world.

[2020-08-15] Smile
Six years ago, when walking at the Bruce Pit dog park in Ottawa, I scrawled the word SMILE in the sand. The earth was still damp from the rain we had had the previous few days. The sun was shining on that beautiful June morning, and I was filled with joy and gratitude.... I walked a little further along the path, and wrote LOVE. Then a little later, BE KIND. And still later, BREATHE.... I'm not sure what made me think about that occasion today, but rereading the post tonight and seeing that photo of the word SMILE traced on the path soothed my worried, tired soul.... I will take the advice that I wrote in the sand six years ago. I will smile and breathe. I will play and laugh. I will be proud and grateful. I will appreciate everyone who is in my life and the love they are sharing.

[2021-08-13] Mysteries you do not yet understand
The days immediately after a cancer diagnosis are the scariest, as I wrote to a friend this morning who is dealing with cancer in his partner's family. The patient often knows little about the illness they're facing. Depending on the type of cancer they have, the patient may get little comfort from doctors who, in those early days, may not know the extent of the cancer and may be reluctant to offer what might be false hope. And the patient may be dealing with the fear of family members and friends, who are understandably concerned about their loved one. But, more often than not, things do get better. I read yesterday in a document my cancer coach sent to me that "60% of Canadians diagnosed with cancer will survive at least 5 years after diagnosis." While that is not an iron-clad guarantee and is an average across all cancer types, it's better odds than some might think.

[2021-08-15] Networking
View discussions as learning opportunities, not just job inquiries. Make your conversation about more than your job search. Barnett suggests: "Ask about the industry, how to succeed, and how to position yourself." I would go one step further. The most fruitful discussions are those that are rewarding for both parties, either immediately or in the days and weeks to follow. If you discover a shared interest, use that as an opportunity to send a link to a useful article or resource. You could even combine it with your thank you: "Thanks for taking the time to meet with me yesterday. I enjoyed our discussion on leadership. I thought you’d like this article that was posted today in the Harvard Business Review Blog."

[2021-08-16] G'day
The older I get, the more likely I am to say hello to complete strangers. As I see it, life's too short not to say g'day.

[2022-08-18] Another 7
I never tire of good news, or take it for granted, or expect that it will be forever thus. Tonight's result got me thinking about other things that never get old: Getting an A in class. Receiving a positive performance review. Harvesting anything from the garden. Successfully baking bread. Seeing a rainbow. Making a perfect connection between two buses. Getting all green lights on a drive through town. Seeing fireworks. Receiving a gift, especially an unexpected one. Winning a game. Witnessing the beauty inherent in each season. Getting a clean bill of health.

2 + 2 Quotes From Others

[2021-08-18] No one has time for everything
Given the pace of work and the level of input in modern society...You can no longer fit everything in—no matter how efficient you become.
~ Elizabeth Grace Saunders

[2021-08-19] Revive and have courage
The heart of man is very much like the sea, it has its storms, it has its tides and in its depths it has its pearls too.
~ Vincent van Gogh

[2022-08-14] Be useful
Be part of the solution, not part of the problem. There will always be tragedies and disasters and injustices you can’t solve. But there will also always be little moments when you can do something—anything—to help.
~ Arnold Schwarzenegger

[2022-08-17] Joy of missing out
JOMO (noun). Joy of missing out. Feeling content with staying in and unplugging as a form of self-care. Antonym: FOMO.
~ Peaceful Mind Peaceful Life

1 Question For You

[2022-08-14] Be useful
You can be useful at a job, but you can also be useful as a father, as a friend, as a mentor. You can even be useful by improving yourself, by reading a book that teaches you a new perspective or starting to hit the gym. But it doesn’t require any heavy lifting. You just have to be willing to ask yourself, "How can I help?" instead of "How can I hurt?"
~ Arnold Schwarzenegger