[2023-03-08] Compendium of posts: women

On this International Women's Day, my third since starting Jenesis, I decided to pull together a compendium of posts that are especially relevant to women—a suggestion from one of the most awesome women I know (my daughter).

[2020-10-21] Laughter and inspiration in abundance
Many friends and family members (both women and men) sent messages when my hair started to fall out from chemotherapy: among the comments from women were jokes about taking a shower with a hairy bear, encouragement that my hair would re"Jen"erate, and conviction that "You can't hide beautiful ......you will still be JEN."

[2020-11-13] Chemo #3 and 100th post
On my third chemo treatment, I watched I Am Woman, the biopic of Helen Reddy, and cried during the scene where she sings "If I have to, I can do anything, I am strong, I am invincible, I am woman." I also reflected on the therapeutic benefits of my daily bloggingmy own "wisdom born of pain."

[2020-11-14] Every life you touch
The book Women: The National Geographic Image Collection includes wisdom from many women, including Maya Angelou, who said to Oprah Winfrey: "Your legacy isn't some big grand gesture. It isn't a school with your name on it. Your legacy is every life you touch, everybody you encounter."

[2021-01-30] Every story is unique
This post is filled with stories of women who faced ovarian cancer, including one woman who blogs because it helps her heal and another who put mementos of her cancer journey into a travel truck that she called "The Box."

[2021-03-07] Ovarian cancer awareness
My contribution to International Women's Day 2021 was to promote awareness of ovarian cancer: the frequency of the disease, survival rates, the difficulty in diagnosing the disease, and common symptoms.

[2021-05-12] International Nurses Day
I recalled the many nurses who had supported me: the one who told me I would do well in cancer treatment, the many angels who cared for me after my surgery, and the special few who administered my life-prolonging chemotherapy.

[2021-05-28] Womanhood
In honour of the International Day of Action for Women's Health, I reflected on how I felt facing ovarian cancer in the context of society's views of what it means to be a woman. I looked at three actual and potential losses: reproductive organs, hair and breasts.

[2021-08-07] Random acts of self-kindness
Among other things, this post recalls one woman's random act of kindness, which was to post messages in public spaces such as "You are enough just as you are." The idea for the notes came from a site called Operation Beautiful, whose aim was "ending fat talk one anonymous post-it note at a time."

[2021-10-13] Kindness with a backbone
Contrary to the idea of "positive rudeness," I argue that girls and young women should not be taught that "positive rudeness" is something to be embraced. Have a backbone, yes. Don't allow yourself to be pushed around, yes. Stand up for yourself and remain respectful, yes. But leave the rudeness behind.

[2021-10-27] National Mentoring Day
As Sheryl Sandberg, then Chief Operating Officer of Facebook, wrote in her book Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead, women often hold themselves back in their careers. I certainly did at times.

[2021-12-28] Your work is important
In a message especially relevant to women, I suggest that it's OK to take a break from activities that leave you drained, and to focus your efforts on people who appreciate them.

[2022-03-07] Thank a woman
International Women's Day is a wonderful time to recognize the women in our lives—both those who do incredible things and those who do small things with incredible love.

[2022-03-08] International Women's Day speech
A year ago, I shared the many lessons I had learned over the previous year and a half, including "Cancer doesn't define me; it's just part of my life"; "I have a hand in creating my future"; and "The difficult moments in life can soften us, make us kinder and more empathic, and help us to better support others."

[2022-03-27] Breast MRI
This post shares guidelines for breast screening in Ontario and a web link that explains how to find a breast cancer clinic in Canada.

[2022-05-31] Saying no
Female employees find it more difficult to say no to a request at work than their male counterparts. "Women typically are regarded as nurturers and helpers, so saying 'no' runs against the grain of what might be expected of them."

[2022-07-24] Women supporting women
Women can support other women in both their personal and professional lives, by—for example—helping to ensure that women's voices are heard, celebrating women's accomplishments, mentoring or sponsoring other women, accomplishing goals together, and taking them along to significant meetings.