[2023-09-02] Saturday Synopsis #59

September is Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month. I'll have more to say on that in the coming days. In the meantime, I hope you are enjoying a lovely weekend.

3 (+3) Ideas From Me

[2020-09-01] Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month
I cried for the first time today. Not because of my diagnosis. Not because of the challenge of surgery and the tough road ahead. Not because of physical pain. No, I cried because of the beauty of the human spirit that is embodied in all the nurses who took care of me when I was at my most vulnerable. After working with me for just 4 hours, my final nurse (Sarah) said to me as I was preparing to leave the hospital: "If it weren't for COVID, I would have given you the biggest hug." She took the same pride in my hitting milestones as she would have had I been her best friend. "Look at you, girlfriend" she said after one report.

[2020-09-02] Caring for the caregivers
Just as I'm asking you to remember the nurses, tonight I am asking you to remember the family and friend caregivers in our lives—the people who are caring for ill loved ones while grappling with their own emotions, such as sadness, fear and guilt. They may not recognize their own need for support or, if they do, may be reluctant to ask for it.

[2021-08-29] Be decisive and move on
On the big decisions, it's worth doing our homework, considering the options and making an informed choice. But on the myriad little decisions we make every day, it pays to be decisive and move on.

[2021-09-01] Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month #2
As I observe my second Ovarian Cancer Awareness Month since facing the disease, I'm struck by how much I've learned about the illness in the past year. Only 1-2% of women will develop ovarian cancer in their lifetime.... There is no reliable screening tool to identify ovarian cancer.... Symptoms of ovarian cancer are difficult to distinguish from those of other illnesses.... When ovarian cancer is discovered, often as an incidental finding when someone seeks medical help for another ailment or in response to a symptom, the cancer has frequently progressed to a later stage.... About 20-25% of women diagnosed with ovarian cancer have an inherited gene mutation.

[2022-08-29] The practice of saying no
I was struck by the notion of aligning "finite energy" with seemingly "infinite possibilities." As someone with considerable energy, I can easily convince myself that I can say yes to many possibilities. I still slip into old habits from time to time, but I've gotten much better. I attribute my improved ability to politely reject new, shiny opportunities to two things: having had cancer and having retired. With its life-shortening potential, cancer has helped me to focus on activities I want to do as opposed to tasks I might have felt compelled to undertake in the past. And being retired means I can be choosy about where I spend my time, with accountability primarily to myself.

[2022-08-31] Mantras
I have choices. These three simple words are incredibly empowering. When we think we are boxed into a corner, it helps to remind ourselves of what we can control. In almost every circumstance (though, sadly, not all), we have choices about the way we see the world, about how we respond, and about who we allow to occupy a privileged place in our lives. When we're stuck, it may be helpful to repeat, "I have choices."

2 {+1) Quotes From Others

[2021-08-31] Getting started
The secret of getting ahead is getting started.... The secret of getting started is breaking your complex overwhelming tasks into small manageable tasks, and starting on the first one.
~ Mark Twain

[2021-09-02] Whole heart
Think about your particular assignment at this time in your life. It may be to get an education, it may be to rear children, it may be to be a grandparent, it may be to care for and relieve the suffering of someone you love, it may be to do a job in the most excellent way possible, it may be to support someone who has a difficult assignment of their own. Our assignments are varied and they change from time to time. Don't take them lightly. Give them your full heart and energy. Do them with enthusiasm. Do whatever you have to do this week with your whole heart and soul. To do less than this will leave you with an empty feeling.
~ Marjorie Pay Hinckley

[2022-08-30] Organizing digital photos
Having a system for naming your image files and organising them into a folder structure might seem time-consuming and even slightly outdated, but when it comes to managing your files and being able to move them between hard drives or simply back them up, having a system will be invaluable.... It’s not unusual to find yourself unable to decide what sort of photo organizing system to implement as you’re not sure whether to organize by location, date, or camera. If that sounds familiar, here’s the answer: there is no perfect system. The best option is to simply pick one and go with it.
~ How to Organize Digital Photos

1 Question For You

[2022-09-02] Capturing stories
Most good material is forgotten. Write down the funniest or most interesting thing that happens to you each day. Most days will be boring, but if you write something each day, then you'll have 5 to 10 entertaining stories within a year or two. People are sitting on more funny stories than they realize because they do not have a habit of capturing humorous things as they happen.
~ James Clear

What is the funniest or most interesting thing that happened to you this week?